Uncategorized

The Glorious Off Day

I have to share the unbelievable dinner we had last night. My dad is the head chef in this household, and last night he felt inspired. More specifically, he was inspired by a recipe in the New York Times for pork chops in a strawberry-rhubarb agrodolce (Paleo friendly, might I add!). If you look at the recipe, you think hmm… rhubarb, strawberries, vinegar, ginger, and olives…. I’ll pass. But it was, I promise you, one of the best meals that I have had this year, if not longer. Served next to asparagus from the farmer’s market and a bed of quinoa, I mean, HELLO! Try it. I promise it will not disappoint.

It’s ironic to think that my second post is about my off day, but, alas, I did not CrossFit today. The common suggestion has been to either follow a 3:1 (three days on, one day off) or 5:2 (five days on, two days off) schedule. So here I am, lounging on my couch after lounging outside, basking in one of the first sunny Sundays we’ve had in quite a while. That’s not to say that I haven’t done anything physical today. I consider mowing the lawn and walking around the grocery store a great way to spend an off-day. I don’t know about you, but I get restless after a few hours of doing nothing.

So this off day was spent sunning, mowing, and exploring the wonderful new grocery store just three miles away! Since beginning CrossFit, and most recently taking on Paleo, I have become extremely aware of eating organic and naturally. Luckily for me, this new grocery store has come just in my hour of need as a beautiful mix between a regular grocer and a specialty foods store. I walked inside today for the first time, and besides seeing everyone I knew (this store is clearly a very big deal in my town), I was hit with the excitement of having a store like this that will lessen the burden of eating Paleo. At least half an aisle was dedicated to gluten free foods, another was filled with nuts, dried fruit, granola and seeds and everything else you could want to fill up in a bag and take home and stuff into your mouth. Not to mention the organic produce and huge meat counter that had me grinning ear-to-ear! I love grocery shopping, and this new store is only going to feed my wonderful (terrible) addiction.

Back on the grind tomorrow, but for now it’s almonds and dried cranberries, House Hunters, and my couch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

